Do not despise the day of small beginnings

The idea for starting a blog was birthed probably in March or April of this past year. My mother and I were discussing how it would be great to have a resource for people (particularly women) to go to for encouragement / ideas / tips on living a modest lifestyle in todays world. However, at the time I was completing a one year course of study through Apostolic School of Theology (AST) and I was well into my first semester of my Master’s degree in nursing. As a single mom, the thought of starting a blog and having to put work into it was just another task I wasn’t ready to face at that particular juncture of life. Fast forward to October 2014 of this year, I have completed my one year course of study through AST and I am no longer in nursing school (perhaps another blog post on that later). I am working from home and living a much simpler (if that’s possible) life then I was 6 months ago. So out of nowhere it seemed as though every where I looked there was information on how to start a blog. Even my favorite older brother kept persistenly encouraging me to start a blog. And I have also felt that inward ever so gentle nudge of “you just need to do this.”

So here I am, writing my first blog.

I have no idea where this blog will take me or who it will impact, if anything it is just for me. Being a single mom, I have hesitated in starting a blog primarily out of my fear of not only the unknown but of placing myself in a vulnerable place where my thoughts and feelings on topics are exposed at a much more intimate level. The questions ran through my mind, What if I offend someone? What if people think I’m full of nonsense? What if this is a total failure? What if people judge me? What if, what if, what if?

But two thoughts kept coming to mind.The first was the scripture from Zechariah 4:10 (New Living Translation) “Do not despise these small beginnings, for the Lord rejoices to see the work begin…” The Lord also brought to my mind the story of Queen Esther. She was a voice in her generation in which her people were at risk of being banished. Not that starting a blog, in my mind, can ever equate to the same level of persecution Queen Esther and her people faced, but it was as though God was allowing me to see that in every generation there are going to be people who will speak against you, but you must stand firm in what you believe and stand for what is right.

My prayer today is that this blog will uplift, encourage, inspire and give hope in the day to day aspects of life as we journey in our pilgrimage towards a brighter day. So as I write this inaugural blog post, I challenge whoever it is reading this, if you have perhaps had something which has just been gnawing at you to begin, then just do it! Put aside the excuses and fear. Do not despise the day of small beginnings. I’m sure I will make (and already have made) plenty of blunders. But a quote I saw this week by Peter Nivio Zarlenga, comes to mind, “Action conquers fear.” Maybe it is introducing yourself to a neighbor who you really didn’t like at first but over time have felt bad over the way you act/acted towards them (ok that’s totally me right there), taking someone out for coffee, calling/texting a relative/friend you haven’t spoken to in a while, sending a note of encouragement to someone, trying a new recipe, cleaning out a junk drawer, or in my case, starting a blog…. whatever small thing it maybe, then just do it!!

One thought on “Do not despise the day of small beginnings

Leave a Reply

