5 days of Thanksgiving

Hard to believe today is the Monday before Thanksgiving. It feels like we just wrapped up July yesterday.

While I know we are taught and told “In everything give thanks….” this week I wanted to take Monday through Friday and share 5 specific things I am thankful for. I hope you will join me in this journey of Thanksgiving.

I am not that old, but I am approaching middle age. Or maybe I am already there, I don’t know. I know I actually had to go into the mall on Saturday (gasp) to return an item I had purchased online and I was so ready to get out of there. Amazon prime has me spoiled. My point being though that I do not have years of experience under my belt, but I am getting old enough to where crowds annoy me. That being said, it seems we are living in a time, more than I have ever seen before, which is so full of hate, anger, hurt and fear. It breaks my heart because it all seems so unnecessary. I realize people have very valid reasons for feeling this way. But in reality we are all the same, wanting the same things, just how we cope and respond is different. So this week I hope to have a heart of Thanksgiving in spite of it all, and I hope you do the same. And while it would be easy for me to pick apart others and their flaws, I must turn the light of examination on me.

My mom sent a message in our family group chat this morning challenging us to try to spend one day not complaining, but rather giving thanks. I have already had to stop myself multiple times realizing what was coming out of my mouth. The power of our words do matter. It bears repeating…. In everything give thanks.

For today’s day of Thanksgiving, I am thankful for the name of Jesus. Last week I had already been thinking about this week and what I would write on my blog and knew I wanted to spend 5 days giving thanks, but I couldn’t settle on what to say the first day. I wanted it to be something which has made an impact on my life, is not materialistic and has an eternal purpose. Yesterday my Senior Pastor, Rev. Richard Flowers, preached on the name of Jesus, and the power we hold because of this name. He encouraged each of us this week to be thankful for the name of Jesus above all else. And when he said that, I knew what Monday was going to be about, the name that is above every name, the name of Jesus.

I could spend weeks on the name of Jesus, when you begin to study it out, you realize just how powerful He is. But the name of Jesus means so much to me because of my own experience with Him. There is salvation, healing, hope, restoration, power, strength, I could go on and on. It’s not just words in a book but it’s my life and He has made a difference in it. He took a girl who was so confused, alone, hurt, angry, bitter, depressed and has restored me above and beyond my wildest dreams and given me a life I never knew I could have and for that I am thankful for the name of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

