Day 4 – Thankful for you

Even though the day is about gone, it is still Thanksgiving in Texas.

Today is day 4 in my 5 days of giving thanks.

Today I am thankful for each of you. Those who read this blog, who I follow along with on social media, for my friends and family near and far. Two years ago my brother encouraged me to start a blog, so I did. I did a few posts in 2014 / 2015, then put it on the back burner for a little over a year. This past year I just felt to start writing again and here we are. I don’t know where this will take me, but I do know through writing this blog I have been able to process some things which I have had to work through and it in turn has helped me to move forward. But I want to thank each of you who in any way, shape or form have been a part of this journey to this point, either through an encouraging word or comment or just by reading. I appreciate each of you.

Now to recap my Thanksgiving day.

The weather in Dallas was picture perfect today & the Cowboys won. What more could you ask for?

My husband is a first responder and he had to work today, so we did not have our own family Thanksgiving dinner, we will do that tomorrow.  I do want to say a big THANK YOU to all first responders and whoever else had to work today! Thank you for sacrificing your time on a holiday!

This morning started out early.  I ran 8 miles in the Dallas YMCA Turkey Trot with my brother. This is our 3rd Turkey Trot to do together, and my 4th one to do. The Dallas Turkey Trot is such a fun course and if you have never done it, I highly encourage you to! They have a 5k race as well. The 8 mile race goes through the heart of downtown Dallas,  over into Oak Cliff and then ends back in down town. While my pace this year was slower than previous years, I was happy just to be out running and taking it all in.

 

After the run, I headed home to prepare a simple lunch for my dad, mom and my daughter. My mom was initially supposed to be working today as well but ended up being on call all day, so it was nice to have her here. In addition to making lunch, I naturally had to taste test the lemon bars I made for our gathering tomorrow (shhh… don’t tell). I used Ina Garten’s recipe and they are delicious! The perfect combo of smooth, chewy, crunchy, sweet and tart.  Here is a link to the recipe.

img_9026

 

After dinner at my place we ventured over to my Aunt Lois’s house where a lot of my mom’s family was gathered. We ate, talked, held babies, my daughter even had her hair done by my talented cousin Morgan.

img_9054

 

 

 

Today was everything Thanksgiving was supposed to be. Full of activity, family, food, fellowship and fun. I hope yours was the same.  Happy Thanksgiving!! 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

