Tuesday January 25, 2022

In yesterday’s post I mentioned I just started reading the book Heaven to Earth by Anthony Mangun, which details out the prayer pattern of praying through the tabernacle. You can google “The Tabernacle Plan” to find many resources on this. I have previously also watched YouTube videos discussing it. My Pastor at church is also currently teaching from this book / prayer plan for the month of January.

As it often is when one is studying something, you suddenly start to see it everywhere. Much like when you notice a car you had never really seen before then you suddenly start seeing it everywhere.

God has really been dealing with me the last few months on the act of surrender, callling to a place of quiet, of rest, of releasing control, of knowing I cannot get it all done but have to do what I can and trust God to work out the rest. God is more interested with my inner life, my thought life, my speech, my attitudes, then he is with any performance I can give. But it takes coming to a place of rest in Him, to leave the distractions behind to be empowered by Him. Today’s scripture was part of my daily Bible reading but also correlated perfectly with the Tabnernacle Plan.

Scripture: Hebrews 9: 11-12 (NLT): So Christ has now become the High Priest over all the good things that have come. He has entered that greater, more perfect Tabernacle in heaven, which was not made by human hands and is not part of this created world. With his own blood – not the blood of goats and calves – he entered the Most Holy Place once for all time and secured our redemption forever.

Observation: The tabernacle in the Old Testament served as a template for what was to come in the New Testament. In the Old Testament, the high priest was only allowed to go in to the Holy of Holies one time per year to make atonement for his sins and the sins of all the people. Everything had to be exactly to the specifications that God had given or it would not happen. When Jesus died on the cross it gave us the ability to come into this secret place because of His blood on our own, He became the High Priest. Because of this it also allowed for Gentiles (anyone not a Jew) to have access to Him.

Application: The tabernacle in the Old Testament was constructed based on very specific instructions from God. Every detail from the type of linen used to who would handle the furniture was given. God did not want Moses to go to the thrift store in the desert to buy some second hand furniture and used clothing to house His presence. God wanted Neiman Marcus quality. In the New Testament when we were each granted access to Him, God did not suddenly change His mind about how we were to take care of the inner workings of the temple, our body. He cares about my inner life, what I put in it and how I arrange things. He cares about what I watch, read, consume. He cares about my schedule, what I have to do each day knowing that I am limited in my humanity as to what I can do. It is learning to rest in Him, seek the quiet places, so He can do the work to make sure my heart, mind, and soul is ready to receive His presence. Without a strong inner life of having Christ dwelling in me then everything else is just for show. I don’t want to offer God thrift store quality, I want to give Him the best.

Prayer: Help me today God to realize the beauty and sacredness of having direct access to You every day. My body is the temple of God, help me to treat it with respect in how I speak about it, think about it, treat it, nourish it. I am fearfully and wonderfully made so that I can house your presence within me. May this presence overflow to those around me and who I interact with daily.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑