Day 5 – Thankful for Family

In my day 5 of 5 days of giving thanks and to finish out the week of Thanksgiving, today I am thankful for family. Family far and near, family who I may not see too often and to the immediate family I see every day, I am thankful for each of you. 

Yesterday was technically day 5 of my 5 days of giving thanks, however I was spending it with my family celebrating Thanksgiving together since my husband had to work on actual Thanksgiving day, and it was an all day affair.

We had so much fun. From Pinterest fails to yummy food, to playing apples to apples, to candy cane pick up games and the Chubby Bunny challenge, it was a day full of laughs, naps and just togetherness. However we forgot to get pics together! But we did get some pics of the turkeys, failed ornaments, the successful ornaments and us playing games.

img_9089
The two turkeys my husband made.
img_9073
Pinterest Ornament fail, almost had to call the fire department on this one. But lots of laughs!
img_9074
The no fail ornaments. Came out so cute! Made with the kids handprints.

img_9075

My heart is so thankful for my family and the family I married into. We all mesh together so well. While I would have loved to have had more extended family with us, our time together was priceless and everything it should have been.  Makayla and Jeff proved to be the candy cane pick up champs… we all had a good laugh with this game.

img_9087
My husband was the winner of the “Chubby Bunny” challenge. You have to see how many marshmellows you can cram into your mouth while still being able to say “Chubby Bunny.” 

Yesterday was also my parents 39th wedding anniversary and it was my Aunt Lois’s birthday, she is my mom’s youngest sister. So it was a special day for all of us. Lois is more like a sister to me. She stayed with us when she was a teenager and I was a kid, I saw her through a few wild times and broken down cars, having to walk home in the rain (no further comments, LOL). She has been with me through some rough times, good times and everything in between.  I have watched Lois persevere through some major trials in her own life and she always has something to laugh about. Hope you had a Happy Birthday Lois! 

In thinking about my parent’s celebrating 39 years of marriage, my parent’s are the epitome of love, faithfulness and committment. I have seen them go through so many things yet remain faithful to God and to each other. From owning their own business and all the stress that brings, being involved in the ministry, dealing with major health issues and serious family situations to all the fun times we have all shared. My parents have been through it all. They have kept God at the center of it all and because of that He has kept them and blessed each of us. 

In my own personal life, my parents have loved me when I was un-lovable. They prayed for me when many parents probably would have given up hope. They took me in at some very low points in my life and were consistent. Had I not had my parents love and support, I would not be where I am today. I shudder to think where my daughter and I would be had my parents not been there. So thank you mom and dad for your unfailing love, it has been a constant for me and has brought my daughter and I into a place of safety, happiness and love. I look forward to some of the best years of our lives ahead.

View More: http://brandimccombphotography.pass.us/set-3-45
With my Daughter, Dad & Mom on my wedding day earlier this year.

 

2 thoughts on “Day 5 – Thankful for Family

  1. Thank you Margaret! It was definitely one of the best birthdays for me this year! I am very thankful for you and your friendship over the years!! You are a very special niece, but more importantly my friend! I have seen God do many beautiful things in your life. The journey has been amazing to watch. It makes me so happy to share in your happiness and see where God is leading you. I know you have great potential and God is and will continue to use you to accomplish many great things for Him!! I love you!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

